A lucky shot; I took this before I knew how critical this information would be
A lucky shot; I took this before I knew how critical this information would be.

We took the subway downtown Seoul today. We have taken the Subway in almost every major world city we’ve been in from Athens, Frankfurt, Rome. Even though we live in a tiny town, we are fairly confident on finding our away around on mass transit and essentially if we want to stay married we have too. We drove one year from Germany to Poland. At one point, Dan pulled over the car got out and started walking. Left me and the girls in the car. I should of let him walk; who knows he could be almost home by now. But after that experience we never drive on vacation anymore.

The menu of choices to buy your subway ticket
The menu of choices to buy your subway ticket

So this is how the subway works in Seoul. You buy a ticket based on the station number for where you want to go. Station names are place holders. Once we figured out all this, we got our card and watched where other people get through the turnstiles so we knew where to put the card and off we go. What we didn’t know is that you need your card to get out of the subway as well. Dan’s card landed on the subway and it caused quite the stir. People pointed and and talked. I wonder what all the commotion was; until one brave woman picked it up and handed it to Dan otherwise he could still in the subway as I type this. Anyway.

Just follow the exit signs
Just follow the exit signs

And then there is the exits. Each subway station must have over 20 exits. Its not a simple walk out for one side of the street or the other. Oh no, mudslide of options. Knowing the exit number to follow is critical to getting out to where you think you should be. We got lucky and I took a picture of the subway sign before we descent into the the deep clean well organized underground. All we had to do was flip back to the camera roll to see what our exit number was. Okay, so I make this sound very simple but before we figured this out; we ended up on some street in the middle of where we didn’t want to be. A twenty minute walk in the underground essentially got us across the street and a block up. The good in all that is the 20,000 stairs I got to climb.

Oh yes I did; All this ice cream just for me
Oh yes I did; All this ice cream just for me

You’d think taking the subway would decrease the amount of steps, miles you take but here it only adds. This day we walked almost 13 miles for almost 30,000 steps.

Thank goodness for the signs. And the subway.

Lunch is prepared at your table.
Lunch is prepared at your table.
